Dealing With The Loss Of My Mom

Dealing With The Loss Of My Mom_1

Dealing With The Loss Of My Mom has been extremely hard. The emotions come in waves and differ every day. Some days are easier than others. There is nothing that can prepare you for the loss of a parent. I filmed a video about Dealing With The Loss Of My Mom & 7 Stages Of Grief I have personally been going through these last few weeks.

I came across a website that mentions 7 stages of grief that we go through when losing a loved one. Going through this list just made me realise how accurate it was in the stages of emotions we encounter while grieving.

I’ve always found it hard to articulate what I mean and what I feel – so to help me with processing everything I filmed this video to perhaps help anyone else going through these emotions and heartache I am currently feeling.

7 Stages Of Grief

  1. Shock & Denial
  2. Pain & Guilt
  3. Anger & Bargaining
  4. Depression, Reflection & Loneliness
  5. The Upward Turn
  6. Reconstruction & Working Through
  7. Acceptance & Hope

All of these resonated with me… Although I am not at the 7th stage yet. I haven’t fully accepted that she is gone. Thinking about all the big life events I will not be able to share with her makes me so sad and heartsore.

I miss her so much it’s been hard to get on with some kind of normality the waves of emotion can consume me to a point that all I think about is the memories we had. It’s something I will be struggling with for a long time. My mom will forever be in my heart, the amazingly strong woman she was.

If you would do want to have a read through those 7 steps of grief. I have included the link to the website and also a website for those suffering from depression if you in South Africa I would recommend you check it out.

Website: – South African Depression Website:


Looking for Something?